Biography

“Wacker hat den langen Atem für den packenden dramaturgischen Bogen“

(Concerti, Eckhard Weber, September 2020)

"...fascinating and varied pieces that display Julia Wacker's virtuosity as a harpist."

(BBC Magazine, Januar 2021)

"... Only gently plucked, yet impressive passages are just as natural as large increases, often culminating in virtuoso runs. All design means were consistently put at the service of the work ..." (Badische Zeitung)

 

 

The harpist has been valued by audiences and critics since childhood for her naturalness and the intensity of her playing.

 

The harpist Julia Wacker received the master class diploma in Würzburg in 2013. Studies with Frédérique Cambreling in Paris, Sarah O'Brien in Basel and Gisèle Herbet in Würzburg. She has won grants from the “Migros Kulturprozent” and the Novartis Foundation and has won prizes at the Swiss Youth Music Competition.

 

Julia Wacker has been the principal harpist of the Basel Festival Orchestra since 2006, a permanent member of the Basel Sinfonietta since 2017 and plays regularly in orchestras such as the WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne, the Brandenburg State Orchestra, the Südwestdeutsche Philharmonie, the Musikkollegium Winterthur, the Zurich Jazz Orchestra and the Zurich Chamber Orchestra , the Basel Chamber Orchestra, the Ensembles Phoenix and Collegium Novum, the Gstaad Festival Orchestra and many more.

 

As a soloist she has played concerts with the Basel Symphony Orchestra, the Pardubice Chamber Philharmonic and the Zurich Symphony Orchestra. Invitations and

Concerts at festivals such as Yehudi Menuhin Festival Gstaad, Musica no Museu in Rio de Janeiro and Schleswig-Holstein. Her trio with flute, viola and harp won 1st prize at the Svirel Competition in 2014 and made it to the finals of the international chamber music competition in Lugano in 2017.

 

 

 

julia.jpg

Biografie

“Wacker hat den langen Atem für den packenden dramaturgischen Bogen“

(Concerti, Eckhard Weber, September 2020)

"...fascinating and varied pieces that display Julia Wacker's virtuosity as a harpist."

(BBC Magazine, Januar 2021)

“Überhaupt ist die Art, wie Wacker die Harfe als Drama-Instrument benutzt, absolut hinreissend und catchy.“

(Remy Franck, Pizzicato, 3.9.2020)

Für ihre Natürlichkeit und die Intensität ihres Spiels wird die Harfenistin seit Kindheit von Publikum und Kritikern äusserst geschätzt.

Julia Wacker erhielt 2013 das Meisterklasse-Diplom in Würzburg. Studien bei Frédérique Cambreling in Paris, Sarah O’Brien in Basel und Gisèle Herbet in Würzburg. Sie gewann Stipendien vom „Migros Kulturprozent“ und der Novartis-Stiftung und war Preisträgerin beim Schweizerischen Jugendmusikwettbewerb. 

 

Julia Wacker ist seit 2006 Soloharfenistin des Basler Festival Orchesters, seit 2017 festes Mitglied in der Basel Sinfonietta und spielt regelmässig in Orchestern wie dem WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, dem Brandenburgischen Staatsorchester, der Südwestdeutschen Philharmonie, dem Musikkollegium Winterthur, dem Zurich Jazz Orchestra, dem Zürcher Kammerorchester, dem Kammerorchester Basel, den Ensembles Phoenix und Collegium Novum, dem Gstaad Festival Orchestra und vielen weiteren. 

Als Solistin spielte sie Konzerte u.a. mit dem Sinfonie Orchester Basel, der Kammerphilharmonie Pardubice und dem Symphonischen Orchester Zürich. Einladungen und

Konzerte an Festivals wie Yehudi Menuhin Festival Gstaad, Musica no Museu in Rio de Janeiro und Schleswig-Holstein. Ihr Trio mit Flöte, Bratsche und Harfe gewann 2014 den 1. Preis am Svirel-Wettbewerb und war 2017 im Finale des internationalen Kammermusikwettbewerbs in Lugano.

julia.jpg